Updated: October 8, 2014

Amy Rodriguez, Becky Sauerbrunn and Lauren Holiday make the USWNT Roster


PRAIRIE VILLAGE, MO (October 8, 2014) – U.S. Women’s National Team head coach Jill Ellis named 20 players to the roster for the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship, which will be held from Oct. 15-26 in four U.S. cities.

The U.S. Women’s National Team will open Group A play at Sporting Park in Kansas City, against Trinidad & Tobago on Wednesday, Oct. 15, at 7:30 p.m. CT (FOX Sports 2).

The 20 players in charge of qualifying the United States for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup have already arrived in Kansas City including Lauren Holiday, Amy Rodriguez and Becky Sauerbrunn, who played key roles in helping FC Kansas City with the 2014 NWSL title.

Amy Rodriguez scored five goals in six games in her one previous Women’s World Cup qualifying tournament in 2010. That includes her game-winning goal in the 1-0 victory against Italy in the second leg of the playoff that helped the USA earn its berth to the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup. She was also the top-scoring American in the NWSL this season and scored three goals in the playoffs as she helped lead FC Kansas City to the title.

Two-time NWSL Defender of the Year, Becky Sauerbrunn also appeared in the 20 player roster. Sauerbrunn has 68 caps with USWNT since making her debut against Canada in 2008 and was subbed out due to a broken nose. This past season, she started in 22 matches and played a total of 1935 minutes and recorded one goal.

Midfielder Lauren Holiday has 105 caps with the U.S. Women’s National Team and has scored 23 goals since her first appearance on January 26, 2007, against Germany. Last season, she started in 21 games and played a total of 1766 minutes recording 8 goals and 7 assists.

Holiday scored the second goal in a 2-0 victory over the Portland Thorns FC in the semi final, and provided both the assists for Rodriguez’s two goals, as they beat Seattle Reign FC 2-1 in the 2014 Championship game, to clinch the club’s first NWSL title. Holiday was voted the match’s MVP.


Related Posts