Six-Round Supplemental Draft Set to Take Place Feb. 7 Via Conference Call

CHICAGO - The National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) has released the order for the Supplemental Draft set to take place on Feb. 7. The Supplemental Draft will consist of six rounds and will be held via conference call.

Each of the eight NWSL clubs will submit a list of 8-10 players by end of today who will be eligible for the Supplemental Draft. Both domestic and international players are eligible for the Supplemental Draft, but each team is allowed two international players in addition to those that were allocated.

The selection order for the draft was determined by several factors, including the order in which the college draft was conducted and how teams have been impacted by the projected absences of previously allocated national team players for all or part of the inaugural season.

The Supplemental Draft order is as follows:

1) Washington Spirit 2) Seattle Reign FC 3) Boston Breakers 4) Chicago Red Stars 5) Sky Blue FC 6) FC Kansas City 7) Western New York 8) Portland Thorns FC

After the Supplemental Draft, clubs may claim up to four Discovery Players, securing the rights to sign those players heading into preseason training camps. Discovery Players may be either international or domestic. Players who were eligible for but not selected in the Supplemental Draft or College Draft may be claimed as Discovery Players. The rights to Discovery Players will be allocated to a team on a "date of submission priority" basis. If two teams submit the same player, the team that submitted the player first will have the opportunity to sign that player.

Players who were not on the submitted lists of the NWSL clubs are not eligible for the Supplemental Draft, but may be claimed as Discovery Players following the draft.

League News, NewsMain AdminFeature, Headline