Kansas City to host the Big XII Women's Soccer Championship

  West Virginia, TCU, Texas Tech, Texas, Oklahoma State, Baylor, Kansas and Oklahoma will compete for the Big XII Championship.

IRVING, TX (November 3, 2014) – West Virginia University has earned its third consecutive Big 12 regular season championship and will be the No. 1 seed at the Big 12 Soccer Championship, scheduled for November 5, 7 and 9 at Swope Soccer Village in Kansas City.  It marks the fourth overall regular season conference crown for the Mountaineers, who also won last year’s Big 12 postseason event.

Oklahoma State will be the No. 2 seed at the Championship after finishing second with a 5-2-1 conference record and 10-8-1 overall mark.  After starting the season winless in the first six outings, OSU has rebounded to post a 10-2-1 record in its last 12 contests.  Kansas will be the No. 3 seed at the Championship after finishing third with a 5-3 conference record and 15-4 overall mark.  The Jayhawks’ victory total was their highest in league play since 2007 and their overall tally was the third-best in school history.

Texas Tech, which finished 14-3-1 overall after a 9-0 start, is the No. 4 seed.  The Red Raiders combined for 32 wins over the past two campaigns.  Texas will be the No. 5 seed after posting three wins in the last four contests.  The Longhorns boast the 10th-toughest schedule in the nation according to the latest NCAA rankings.  Oklahoma will be seeded No. 6, followed by No. 7 Baylor and No. 8 TCU.  The Sooners will face KU in the quarterfinals in a rematch of the two teams’ regular-season finale.

Fans and followers can watch the entire Big 12 Championship live.  The quarterfinals and semifinal contests will be shown exclusively on the Big 12 Digital Network at Big12Sports.com with Lincoln Rose calling the action.  The Sunday title match can be seen live nationally on FOX Sports 1, with Dave Barnett and Jessica Stamp handling announcing duties.


Fan Zone, NewsMain AdminFeatured, Headline, News